Free Downloads
Appaloosa Summer (Island Series Book 1)

Sixteen-year-old Meg Traherne has never known loss. Until the beautiful, talented horse she trained herself, drops dead underneath her in the show ring.Jared Strickland has been living with loss ever since his father died in a tragic farming accident.Meg escapes from her grief by changing everything about her life; moving away from home to spend her summer living on an island in the St. Lawrence River, scrubbing toilets and waiting on guests at a B&B.Once there, she meets Jared; doing his best to keep anything else in his life from changing.When Jared offers Meg a scruffy appaloosa mare out of a friend’s back field, it’s the beginning of a journey that will change both of them by summer’s end.

File Size: 1301 KB

Print Length: 248 pages

Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited

Publication Date: June 14, 2014

Sold by:  Digital Services LLC

Language: English


Text-to-Speech: Enabled

X-Ray: Not Enabled

Word Wise: Enabled

Lending: Not Enabled

Enhanced Typesetting: Not Enabled

Best Sellers Rank: #97,833 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store) #18 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Teen & Young Adult > Sports & Outdoors #62 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Nonfiction > Sports > Individual Sports > Horses > Equestrian #111 in Books > Crafts, Hobbies & Home > Pets & Animal Care > Horses > Riding

This review was first published on my blog Courtney's ReadsThe title of this novel caught my attention almost right away. My mind was flooded with memories from all those summers (and every other season of the year, too) that I spent with my beautiful Appaloosa Smokin' Joe. Still, I was hesitant. Picking up horse books can be hard for me (but I'm getting better!), because it's so easy to get wrong. I'm happy to say that this book did a very nice job with the equestrian side of things.Meg, our main character, is devastated when her horse Major dies in the middle of a competition. After recovering from her own injuries, Meg ventures to her parent's island cottage for a summer job, not yet ready to let another horse take Major's place.This book was filled with likable, easy to relate with characters. They aren't always as believable as I would like, as there were not many flaws shown by the characters. Aside from that, they were nicely done. There isn't too much drama, which was a nice break from a lot of the YA I've read recently. The drama that was there stayed mostly in the periphery of the story and was handled gently, never thrown at you. In some respects this was almost more middle grade than YA, in terms of how situations were handled and characters portrayed.The horse side of the novel was cute and showed some of the emotional baggage that goes with loving horses. I could feel Meg's pain over her loss, though I think it would take me much longer to emotionally recover from something like that. It was nice to see her growing bond with Salem, the Appaloosa she acquires during her stay in the cottage. My only complaints with the horsey side of things is that there could have been more.

FULL REVIEW HERE: [...]Thanks to NetGalley for a free copy, in exchange for an honest review!This was an amazing book. I wholeheartedly enjoyed it. Ms. Robins knows her horses, creates fantastic characters, a unique and enthralling plot that made it nearly impossible to put down, a sweet romance, and a happy ending. This book was engaging. I would just sit down and read page after page after page, and it would take all my willpower to close the book and be productive. Definitely not your typical horse book, either. Growing up as a horse-crazy girl who was determined to read every book her local library had to offer, a girl who also frequented Half-Price Books... I ended up reading (and owning) a LOT horse books. My reaction to horse literature by now? YAWN. It's always the exact same plot, same shallow not-well-developed characters, same never-ending series, same Suspense and Mystery (SARCASM). Don't get me wrong, I loved those books! But after a while, they all bled together...So, when I saw this book on NetGalley... Well, first off, the cover was gorgeous. Seriously, I would buy this book JUST for the cover. But I had low expectations. Very low. This book blew them away! I LOVED it! I've been a bit (okay, a lot) down lately, and this book was perfect. It was a wonderful world and story to escape into for brief snatches of time, and it leaves you feeling satisfied. This may well be my new Happy Book. The only real complaint I have about this book is that it wasn't longer. Every once in a while, I would just get lost for a few sentences. Unsure about what day it is, how much time has elapsed, who's talking to whom, etc. It didn't happen often, but when it did, it was disconcerting. A brief trip back to the real world as I tried to discover what had just happened.

Appaloosa Summer (Island Series Book 1) Island Style Cookbook: Guam's Favorite Soups, Tasty Guam Recipes, Wonderful Chamorro Island Food , Exotic Guam Cookbook Of Soups, Enjoy Awesome Chamorro Guam Food From This Island Cookbook Vegan Spring Rolls & Summer Rolls: 50 Delicious Vegan Spring Roll Recipes and Summer Roll Recipes (Veganized Recipes Book 10) The Summer Wind (Lowcountry Summer Book 2) The Summer Girls (Lowcountry Summer) The Summer Wind (Lowcountry Summer) Summer by the Sea: a perfect, feel-good summer romance Summer Island Summer Island: A Novel The Coast of Summer: Sailing New England Waters from Shelter Island to Cape Cod Monster Island: A Zombie Novel (The Monster Island Book 1) Oak Island and its Lost Treasure: The Untold Story of the British Military's Role in the Island Flood Tunnel Round walled graveyards and churches in Iceland, Greenland and possibly in Rhode Island.: Were there Round walled graveyards and churches in Rhode Island like in Iceland and Greenland. MELISSA FOSTER: SERIES READING ORDER & BOOK CHECKLIST.: SERIES LIST INCLUDES: SNOW SISTERS, LOVE IN BLOOM, HARBORSIDE NIGHTS, ROCKWELL ISLAND & MORE! (Top ... Reading Order & Checklists Series 51) Freddie's Super Summer - DownSyndrome (Moonbeam book award winner 2009) - Special Stories Series 2 (Volume 1) Summer Circuit (Show Circuit Series -- Book 1) Truth & Temptation (Summer Love Series Book 3) J.A. Jance Series Reading Order: Series List - In Order: J.P. Beaumont series, Joana Brady Mysteries series, Ali Reynolds series, Walker Family series (Listastik Series Reading Order Book 13) W.E.B. Griffin Series Reading Order: Series List - In Order: Presidential Agent series, Badge of Honor series, The Corps series, Honor Bound series, Brotherhood ... (Listastik Series Reading Order Book 14) Stephen King Series Reading Order: Series List - In Order: The Dark Tower series, Shining series, Talisman series, The Green Mile series, stand-alone novels, ... (Listastik Series Reading Order Book 30)